My Now Buy/Low Buy Project

http://Photo by Vladislav Reshetnyak from Pexels

It has been seven weeks since I decided to be mindful about our family spending. Click on link below for the video on my No Buy/Low Buy Update for Week 7.

https://youtu.be/cq4bBT48CKw

On this video I break down my expenses per category with a grand total at the end. This experience has thought me so much about myself and what I can do if I put my mind, heart, and soul on something. I’m not perfect, and I don’t want to come up like that, I have messed up so many times. This is still a work in-progress, the journey is just beginning and I am up for the ride.

Knowing exactly where my money is going, how I am spending it and on what is the money been spend on, gives me so much power. Power to control how much I’m spending. Power to say NO to unnecessary purchases. Power to handle my finances in a more mindful way.

Through this process I have realized how much of my spending is done on an impulse. I have also realized that I can control that impulse and that urge to buy something just because I got paid today and I have the money for it. I have learn that the more I exercise the power of NO the easier it gets. I have not done any shopping for clothing in SEVEN WEEKS. To me that is a huge accomplishment! I used to get out of work on a Friday and stop by Marshalls or Kohl’s and buy something new to wear for Date Night. I also used to excuse my buying new clothes with “I need this for work”. I used all sorts of excuses just to justify an impulse buy. I am certain I can exercise more control. I have been to stores, I have try-on clothes but I’ve not broke my No Buy/Low Buy and that makes me happy.

Soon I will be acquiring some new pieces of clothing for an upcoming trip and I can wait to test myself control. I know I am going to be more mindful and conscious on what I buy and I am clear that things have a purpose. I will not be buying just for the heck of buying. I’m sure many people would be judging me and saying, “why not pay off your debt instead of going on vacation”.

Look, I have a goal in mind, and we are clear on it, but I also have a life to live. My husband and I are celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and I am turning 40 this year. We are taking a much deserve vacation to commemorate those two milestones. We will resume our No Buy/Low Buy Project after our vacation and we will go in it full force.

For now, I am ok taking it easy. So far we have paid off 3 stores credit cards, 6 outstanding medical bills and are making progress on the other major credit cards. I know I still need to get other areas of my spending under control. But like I said earlier, this is a journey. It is not a race, it is a slow and relaxed drive towards the final destination, BE DEBT FREE.

Starting this week I’m shifting my No Buy/Low Buy to save money for our upcoming trip. We are still going to pay as much as we can to our debt but we are putting more than usual aside for vacation savings. I can’t wait to share with you our progress and where we are going for our vacation. This life is only one, and we have to live it to the fullest. Stay tune for updates…


One thought on “My Now Buy/Low Buy Project

Leave a comment